5 Replies Latest reply on Dec 11, 2012 12:02 PM by gener7

converting ink drawing to bitmap

duane

Hello. I am a comic artist and so scan a lot of black and white line work. The company I am working for want me to send my scanned black and white pages in bitmap mode instead of grayscale. The problem I am having is my line work is becoming very pixelated when converting to bitmap. Is there anything I can do to fix this problem.

Program- Photoshop CS6

Thanks very much for your help.

Regards

Duane

• 1. Re: converting ink drawing to bitmap
          c.pfaffenbichler Level 9

The problem I am having is my line work is becoming very pixelated when converting to bitmap.

Have you scanned at the appropriate size and resolution?

If not upscaling and Filtering the grayscale image prior to conversion might help somewhat.

Bitmap (1bit) makes sense because unlike grayscale images they can utilize the printing device’s full resolution.

• 2. Re: converting ink drawing to bitmap
            duane Level 1

Thanks for your reply. I'm not sure. What would be the appropriate size and resolution. I usually scan 8bit 300dpi I am trying to convert to bitmap 300dpi. Size of drawings scanned at about 10" x 15" to be reduced to around 6.6" x 10".

Is there some kind of formula I should be following?

Thanks again for your help.

• 3. Re: converting ink drawing to bitmap
              c.pfaffenbichler Level 9

A 1bit bitmap in final (printed) size should usually have about 1200ppi.

• 4. Re: converting ink drawing to bitmap
                emil emil Level 4