20 Replies Latest reply on Apr 5, 2017 2:04 PM by buddyling

SVG-files into one layered AI-file

kennr2483582

Hello good guys!

Although I'm new to scripting Illustrator, I'm looking for a script that can help me – and merge 10 SVG-files into one layered AI-file.

I get a lot of projects which contents 10 individual SVG-files that are exported from a GIS program (Map data). Each SVG-file contents specific stuff like water, roads, houses etc., so when 'merging' them together, the result will be one final map. I'll need to copy each SVG-file into a new layer so the end result will be a layered AI-file.

I was thinking that the script should do something like this:

- Find a folder using a dialog box and open its SVG-files (each project has 10 SVG-files (same size))

- Copy the content from each SVG-file into a new document (same size as the SVG-file) on a separate layer

(The new document will then have 10 layers)

(Naming each layer the same as the SVG-file name)

- Close all the SVG-files, leaving the new AI-file on the screen

I'll would be very glad if someone could point me in the right direction for this project … Thanks

- Kenn

• 1. Re: SVG-files into one layered AI-file
          Muppet Mark Level 5

I would place each in a layer…

• 2. Re: SVG-files into one layered AI-file
            kennr2483582 Level 1

exactly – but automated!- thus it's a lot of projects (about 100 projects = 100 x 10 SVG-files that need to be 'merged'). And more to follow next year, so …

… any script-ideas is welcome J

- Kenn

• 3. Re: SVG-files into one layered AI-file
              Larry G. Schneider Adobe Community Professional & MVP

I'm thinking that you would do something like doc.layer.move to the a new document. Something like the MoveItem.jsx in the Sample Scripts.

• 4. Re: SVG-files into one layered AI-file
                Muppet Mark Level 5

What I meant was to script the placement over opening SVG and duping… Does placing work when using the GUI?