5 Replies Latest reply on Dec 16, 2012 9:53 PM by Yao Xing Chua

How to build a content structure in DAM?

apark2900 Level 1

Hi,

I am a newbee developer in CQ.

I have an article table which contains 6 fields as title, category#, autor, dateCreated, content, and imagePath.

How should I build this database structure in DAM?

In CRXDE Lite, I tried to create 20 article nodes manually, and put these 6 fields as properties in each article node.

I somehow display all the articles with its components using nodeIterator JSP method as described in CRX development guide.

However, I cannot browse these article nodes from DAM web interface. This should be capable for editorial department to modify them.

Is this right approach?

How would you build the structure of this content data into DAM?

• 1. Re: How to build a content structure in DAM?
          brwest Level 1

Hello,

For the requirement you mentioned you will need to have the following

1. A template that will represent the article page structure

2. Components that can be used to author the page , like the article itself  (component can have title, summary, body, image location etc). The image itself will be in DAM

3. Once you have the template and corresponding page and custom components ready , you can create a page using the site admin console and author the page with actual content, this will create appropriate content nodes

Hope this helps

You can actually see how this is done  here

http://dev.day.com/docs/en/cq/current/howto/website.html

regards

kishore

• 2. Re: How to build a content structure in DAM?
            apark2900 Level 1

Thanks for the instruction!

What about article content? You know it's not just one article. I want to save these 20,000 article somewhere in database to query. How can I do that?

• 3. Re: How to build a content structure in DAM?
              brwest Level 1

Are you trying to migrate content from an existing system to CQ5.