1 Reply Latest reply on Dec 14, 2012 8:09 AM by EricCJunk

Please Help!  Audio off on imported .mp4 files (but fine everywhere else).

EricCJunk Level 1

Hello,

I am trying to trouble shoot a problem.  I am a beginner when it comes to the technical end of this so please forgive me if I don’t post the correct information.  Hopefully somebody here can help or point me in the right direction. 

My problem is this:  I’m using Skype on my (windows 7 ultimate) pc to make group video calls.  I use Skype along with the program Evaer in order to record the video and audio of each person on the call separately.  It records it using the H.264/MPEG-4 AVC Codec.  At 1280 X 720 and 30fps.  The video files have the audio in them as well.  However it also records a separate .mp3 with everyones audio at 265 BitRate and 48000 SampleRate.  So after the group call (with 3 people) is finished I will have three .mp4 video files w/ audio (1 for each person on the call) and 1 .mp3 file.  If I open any of the video files in Windows Media Play they play just fine.  But when I bring the file into Adobe Premiere CS6 for editing, the audio is completely off.  What can I do to fix this?

I did “interperate footage” for the file and this is what it shows:

File Path: F:\VIDEO RECAP\ call1.mp4

Type: MPEG Movie

File Size: 1.3 GB

Image Size: 1280 x 720

Frame Rate: 28.47

Source Audio Format: 16000 Hz - compressed - Stereo

Project Audio Format: 32000 Hz - 32 bit floating point - Stereo

Total Duration: 00;57;55;04

Pixel Aspect Ratio: 1.0

I want to edit this in HD.  So the project setting I choose is “HDV 720p30fps”.  I import my file, and then drag it into to the time line.  It says that the sequence settings are wrong, and so I tell it to change them automatically (I have also to it to leave them) either way it doesn’t matter.  When I play back the video .mp4 in Premiere CS6 the audio is completely off.