8 Replies Latest reply: Dec 20, 2012 8:51 AM by nealeh RSS

Output from Premiere Elements v11 is blurry

hesta_man

Greetings folks!

I recently installed Premiere Elements v11 after having a limited amount of experience with Premiere Elements v7.  I am a software developer by trade and pickup technical concepts fairly quickly.

I am working with a local university to distribute some mathematics materials to area high schools for college credits.  I have raw video of the teachers presenting the material on a standard definition DVD.  Each DVD needs some very minor editing as well as an introduction and lesson title screen.  The raw DVD material is crisp and clear.  My workflow is to copy the DVD onto my hardrive and import the .VOB file directly into Premiere Elements.  From there, I add the intro, title screen and trim some errors out of the original .vob.  All is well...  However... when it comes time to export the video, no matter what preference I choose, the video comes out blurry.  To get an idea of what I am talking about - see this video at 34 seconds into the lesson: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LWwP0ISSsg0  Again - on the original DVD, the text is crisp - like video taken directly from a PC.  I'm at the end of my rope - does anybody have suggestions and/or able to point me in the right direction?

Thanks!

• 1. Re: Output from Premiere Elements v11 is blurry
          the_wine_snob Community Member

Welcome to the forum.

One problem with the workflow that you outline is that when working from a DVD-Video, the AV material has already been heavily compressed once, to the required MPEG-2 format w/ the MPEG-2 DVD CODEC, so its quality has been compromised. Then, once edited, most Export formats will compress, to some degree, again.