14 Replies Latest reply on Dec 21, 2012 8:19 PM by hammy3000

Capturing VHS-C footage: Will this method work?

hammy3000 Level 1

Ok, I'm new to the whole Video and Digital manipulation realm, but I wanted to run this by everybody before I tried it out.

Two questions:

1. Would this work:

- Capturing at DVD quality (I mean, it's VHS-C tapes, not exactly IMAX level stuff)

2. I'm using my S-VHS player and my DV player as a bridge to my computer. Which of these two is better/higher quality (or either I guess):

a. Plug my s-video into my vcr and dv player, then usb into my computer, then capture that video using the dv camera as a bridge

OR

b. S-video into my dv and vcr, capture the footage onto my DV camera, then import that captured footage from the DV camera.

• 1. Re: Capturing VHS-C footage: Will this method work?
          Harm Millaard Level 7

VHS-c is never up to DVD quality standards.

Capture is only possible when connecting the VHS deck, preferably over S-video to a DV camera or deck and outputting from the camera or deck over firewire to the PC. USB will not work.

• 2. Re: Capturing VHS-C footage: Will this method work?
            Ann Bens Adobe Community Professional & MVP

1. Capturing with Premiere will only be dv-avi.

2a. USB wont work,

2B. Best solution but make sure the vcr has real s-video. Otherwise you will need composiet cables.

• 3. Re: Capturing VHS-C footage: Will this method work?
              hammy3000 Level 1

Huh. I don't know. I did option "a" a while ago as a test run and it worked. Am I magic??

I literally:

s-video from VCR to miniDV camera, usb'd from miniDV into pc, and live captured the footage.

But I'm not sure if doing that loses quality (vs just capturing it directly onto the mini-dv tape then importing it in). I guess that's essentially the question.

• 4. Re: Capturing VHS-C footage: Will this method work?
                Harm Millaard Level 7