5 Replies Latest reply on Dec 21, 2012 4:05 AM by peter minneapolis

Figure Numbering/Page Ordering trouble

crislet

I have a large document with 30+ figures. While I am new to InDesign, I understand the concepts since I use Scribus and was a FrameMaker user for years. So, I created a paragrph style with numbering, but the figure numbers are wrong. InDesign seems to have some kind of internal ordering that  is totally unrelated to my page ordering.  

Here is a partial list of figures it generated:

List of Figures

Figure 12. -  page     3

Figure 8. - page      4

Figure 9. - page      4

Figure 10. - page       4

Figure 11. - page      5

Figure 13. - page     8

Figure 30. - page      33

Figure 33. -page     36

Figure 34. -page  37

Figure 35. - page      38

etc...

I have actually gotten so frustrated that I made a new paragraph style without numbering and went and did all of the numbering by hand. What I discovered while doing this is that the Find dialog follows this same mixed up ordering (and that doing it by hand is VERY error-prone.)

Is there any way to make InDesign follow my page order so I can use the built in order numbering? Is there a way to even see why it is ordering things they way it is?

Thanks so much.

• 1. Re: Figure Numbering/Page Ordering trouble
          lilia@ Level 2

Well I'm not sure if I understand what your saying, but here is my 2 cents worth... I'm guessing that Figure 12 sits on page 3 and Figure 8 sits on page 4 or something like this (where a figure sits on a particular page).

You could create a style sheet (character if necessary) without numbering and apply it to the Figure and number only, THEN you could create a contents page kind of list to collate the figures and page numbers.

Hope I helped

lil...

• 2. Re: Figure Numbering/Page Ordering trouble
            crislet Level 1