5 Replies Latest reply on Dec 22, 2012 11:54 AM by the_wine_snob

VOB Files

TeeRL11

Hi,

I have a VOB file. When I GET MEDIA and bring the VOB file into APE10, the audio is out of sync.. The vob file plays just fine outside of APE.  Why? and can this be easily fixed as I am a rookie using this program. I've converted the file to MPEG using Any Converter but the quality of the original VOB is better and I'd prefer to stick with it. The MPEG file has the jitters when burned to DVD.

Thanks so much for some veteran guidance

• 1. Re: VOB Files
          John T Smith Adobe Community Professional & MVP
          • 2. Re: VOB Files
            the_wine_snob Level 9

The VOB will contain MPEG-2 Video and MPEG Audio Layer II (and the first VOB can also contain Menus and navigation). PrE can have trouble with the MPEG Audio, and OOS (Out Of Sync) is not uncommon. For more info, see this article: http://forums.adobe.com/message/2298534#2298534

This article might be useful in getting the sync back: http://forums.adobe.com/message/1982330#1982330

Good luck,

Hunt

[Edit] While I was grabbing links - John T. was posting.

• 3. Re: VOB Files
              TeeRL11 Level 1

Well, thank you both for such quick responses but I think I may need to stick with the converted MPEG file. All this sounds to advanced for my expertise. I have no plans to edit this VOB movie, I just want to burn it to dvd with some other MWV files and get a nice DVD for TV viewing.

I was hoping for a simple setting in APE or better yet, the hope that APE would just import it w/o incident.

Thank you for your time, and Happy Holidays to all,

• 4. Re: VOB Files
                TeeRL11 Level 1

Um. I have another question that just surfaced.

I just renamed the .VOB file as .MPEG and it now imports just fine and audio / video is in sync. How could that be? Or should I just be happy and move on?

• 5. Re: VOB Files
                  the_wine_snob Level 9

Glad that the Rename worked for you.