3 Replies Latest reply on Dec 24, 2012 10:09 AM by kglad

How to choose what to learn?

sippycup333

Let me explain the project I want to complete and hopefully you can tell me what I need to learn.

I am a teacher and I want to have my students create a walking history tour of our town App for iOS and Android. It will be a few windows: a map, a list of locations, and an info window that displays pictures and text about the location. I am trialing the Creative Cloud in the hopes that this will suit my needs. It looks like it is possible to do this in Flash pro or Flash Builder or even InDesign, but thats just it. I can't figure out where to start. Our students use Photoshop, Indesign, and Flash at our school. All CS3. My hope is that a project like this will convice the school to buy Creative Cloud for Teams, but I need to be sure I can produce a finished project. I have used Photoshop and Lightroom a lot, but hardly anyflash. My coding skills are limited to HTML, CSS, and basic javaScript. I am not afraid to dig into some tutorials or books, but I need to know which ones will help me, and which ones are a waste of time. There is so much out there! Do I start with just basic flash tutorials? Even then am I using Flash Pro or Builder? Can I have the students design things in InDesign or Photoshop and send them to me to put into flash builder? I tried researching this, but I thought the forums might give me better advice. Thanks.

• 1. Re: How to choose what to learn?
          kglad Adobe Community Professional & MVP

if you envision an app that uses geolocation to display items of historical interest as you walk through your town you will need to iuse some actionscript (which is similar but the same as javascript).  you can use flash pro or flash builder to encode your app but from your description it doesn't sound like there will be any design elements that would require photoshop or indesign.

1 person found this helpful