1 Reply Latest reply on Jan 2, 2013 9:53 AM by sarhunt

Edge Compared to Sencha Animator/Tumult Hype

rodlab2x Level 1

I'm a flash designer for over 8 years. Now I have the need to produce for tablets and mobile and translate my skills in new programs.

I've tried Edge and love it very happy with the performance and timeline and easing etc.

I have done couple animations to try it out and seems to work fine.

http://www.lab2x.com/LC/edge/330/AggravatedAd330x410.html

http://www.elevote.com/ipad.html

I was asking another flash designer/motion graphics person I respect in the industry about it and this is what I got.

" it's pretty good tool for Flash Pros to utilize in making standards based animations, but it still doesn't output canvas or SVG, which negates some of the HTML5 marketing."

I wonder how this exactly affects Edge as a new product. I'm new to this html5 era like many so I would like to clear up this on my mind on what should I learn.

Is it a performance issue on tablets/mobile when making an animation with jquery/js in edge vs an animation done in html5 canvas/svg? what else is involved here?

Is tumult's hype and sencha animator more html5 compatible and that makes them better or is edge going to support all of these in the near future?

Thanks for your answers.

Rodrigo

• 1. Re: Edge Compared to Sencha Animator/Tumult Hype
          sarhunt Adobe Employee

Hey Rodrigo,