6 Replies Latest reply on Dec 26, 2012 4:09 PM by Bill Gehrke

Premier Pro Display PCA

Sharon38D Level 1

Hi -   I'm a student Cloud subscriber and have just begun using PP/CS6 in class on MACs. Being a student on a tight budget and having an older PC at home to work with, I contacted NVIDIA and asked for their suggestion for a reasonablely priced display card that could do non-linear, real-time PP work. Nothing too fancy as my HP computer is 18 months old. They suggested the Quadro 600 for around $150. What are your thoughts on their suggestion? I'm in a web and interactive media program, so I'm not real sure PP will be an everyday tool, like Dreamweaver and Flash Pro are. But, ya never know about these things. Right now I've got the default NVIDIA 6200SE TurboCache and it just can't keep up.   Thank in advance for your help - its always been "spot-on".  - [personal information removed]

[Removed personal information]

Message was edited by: sinious

• 1. Re: Premier Pro Display PCA
          Mylenium Most Valuable Participant

We know nothing about your project requirements and that solely dictates this stuff. If you need Mercury playback then all supported cards are listed on the tech specs page for PPro. What's not listed is not supported, it's as easy as that. Outside Mercury, however, PPro still does more conventional playback acceleration with OpenGL and that is usually good enough for a single HDV stream still. If it isn't, most contemporary cards will easily smoke your current card. It doesn't even need to be a Quadro. All that aside, of course video editing has other requirements like reasonably fast harddrives with enough space on them, so in the end, the answer may not be all that easy as going out an just buying a card...

Mylenium

• 2. Re: Premier Pro Display PCA
            Jim_Simon Level 8