1 Reply Latest reply on Aug 9, 2007 12:17 PM by ntsiii

Multiple HTTPService send() calls

wlee@unimelb
      Hello,

I'm new to Flex, and am trying to creat a quiz application that re-uses modular canvases for different question types. Each question is displayed on its own canvas, which is accessed through a TabNavigator.

Each canvas has its own HTTPService object, which is passed a URL from the main application. I'm a little worried about each instance of the canvas having a HTTPService object with the same id, but it hasn't seemed to cause any problems so far.

The problem I'm having is that of the four canvases, only two seem to populate with the external XML data from the HTTPService. What's even more weird is that the initially active tab is fine, as is the next tab which is chosen (it doesn't matter whether it's 2, 3 or 4) but the other two tabs remain blank when clicked.

Code:

Main application: (comps.mxml)
      --------------------
      <?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
      <mx:Application xmlns:mx=" http://www.adobe.com/2006/mxml" layout="absolute"
      xmlns:custom="myComponents.*"
      creationComplete="loadQuestions()" >
      <mx:Script>
      <![CDATA[
      public function loadQuestions() : void
      {
      mcq1.questionData.send();
      }
      ]]>
      </mx:Script>
      <mx:Panel layout="absolute" left="10" top="10" bottom="10" right="10" id="mainPanel" title="Quiz Application">
      <mx:TabNavigator top="0" left="0" bottom="10" right="0" id="tabby">
      <mx:Canvas label="Question 1" width="100%" height="100%" activate="{mcq1.questionData.send()}">
      <custom:MCQCanvas id="mcq1" xmlURL="single.xml" left="10" top="10">
      </custom:MCQCanvas>
      </mx:Canvas>
      <mx:Canvas label="Question 2" width="100%" height="100%" activate="{mcq2.questionData.send()}">
      <custom:MCQCanvas id="mcq2" xmlURL="secondSingle.xml" left="10" top="10">