4 Replies Latest reply on Nov 26, 2007 7:38 PM by atta707

Confused about deleting objects

Aaron Hildebrandt Level 1
      I'm completely new to ActionScript, and I'm having trouble understand how to delete objects.

If I make a new object, for instance "var shape:Shape = new Shape();", and later I try to delete that object ("delete(shape)"), it spits an error, telling me "Attempt to delete fixed the property drip". This seems to go for every object.

What's the correct to delete an object? Within the object itself, I tried "delete(this)", which doesn't throw an error, but doesn't seem to work, either.
        • 1. Re: Confused about deleting objects
          atta707 Level 2
          > I'm having trouble understand how to delete objects.

Actually, you don't need to! There is not concept of object deletion in modern OO programming languages. Memory management has become a responsibility of the run time instead of programmers.

You might want to read more on garbage collection and it's rules in the Flex docs that come with the Flex builder.

ATTA

• 2. Re: Confused about deleting objects
            Aaron Hildebrandt Level 1
            I still don't quite understand. If I understand correctly, I don't delete objects, I just leave them alone, right? Except this doesn't seem to be the case.

In my main AS, I have the following code:

public function RainTower() {
            var rainTimer:Timer = new Timer(10);
            rainTimer.addEventListener(TimerEvent.TIMER, DripDrop, false, 0, true);
            rainTimer.start();
            }

private function DripDrop(event:TimerEvent):void {
            var drip:Raindrop = new Raindrop();
            addChild(drip);
            }

In a separate file, I have this:

public function Raindrop() {
            trace("New drop");
            shape.graphics.lineStyle(0, 0x0000FF, 1);
            var offset:Number = 0;
            shape.graphics.drawRect(mouseX+offset, mouseY+offset, 3, 3);
            addChild(shape);