16 Replies Latest reply on Jan 3, 2013 11:34 PM by Harm Millaard

AMD FX3850 For budget editing build?

Brian_Kitevids

Hello,

First off I would like to thank the dedicated users who have shared there knowlage over the years.  Its taken quite awhile but ive sifted through alot of it over the last couple weeks with the intent on chosing parts for a new build.  I'm wondering what peoples thoughts are on the knew piledriver achitecture in the FX 8350 and 8320 and if it has a place at the center of a budget workstation.  

A little bit more about my needs.

At the moment I'm a student and under a vary tight budget.  Photo and video editing has long been a hoby and only recently turned more serious/semi-professional (aka Friends pay for odd jobs).  Im happy to say that this is ramping up.  I personal plans to take things farther and more work then my current tools can handle (aka asus gaming laptop).  This comming year I will be doing a series of web videos in conjuntion with a website I will be managing.  A more personal project will be starting a documentry on the local action sports scene.  So broken down more briefly.

- I will by no means be editing 24/7.  Though quick response and smothe performance will be required.

- I will be shooting mostly with Panasonic GH2/3  The Hacked footage is high bitrate AVCHD

This isn't my first PC build.  Though the first workstation.  I will overclock.