5 Replies Latest reply on Dec 31, 2012 1:19 PM by topsykrett06

Save last character in autotab script?

topsykrett06

Hi,

I'm new to javascript and i've been working with a form I was given. The one part of the form consists of 3 text fields, one on top of the other, effectively making that part of the form like lined paper. Anyhow, I need to implement an autotab script so that when the user reaches the end of the textfield, it will go right onto the next texfield. I had found the adobe documentation on the fieldFull event so I am working off of that. This is the example:

if ( event.fieldFull )  

this.getField("Next_Text_field").setFocus();

I have that as a custom keystroke script with my textfield names and it works fine, except for the fact that the last character before the tab is lost. I have tried many things but my knowledge of the systax and fuctions isn't very good. I just need a way to save that last character and get it on the next textfield. Can anyone help out? (Also, it might be helpful to note that I cannot change the design of the form and I am not using LiveCycle).

Thanks!

• 1. Re: Save last character in autotab script?
          George_Johnson MVP & Adobe Community Professional

I've never seen that type of thing done well, but the technique demonstrated with the following works just fine: https://workspaces.acrobat.com/?d=AG6oZ3bi3DYHokxDPeWN7A

Study the scripts attached to various field events to see how it works. The lines will show if the field is blank, but obscured otherwise. The purpose of such lines is to help when hand-filling and they will be available when a blank form is printed.

This doesn't work if the first line is shorter than the subsequent ones if they layout is something like:

Description: [ this is the first line        ]

[ this is the second line                         ]

[ this is the third line                             ]

But you can sometimes place the field below the first one and still have sufficient space.