13 Replies Latest reply on Jan 11, 2013 6:59 AM by rob day

Help Please! Serious Issues with Placing Screen Shots.

colmmolloy Level 1

Hi,

I'm a long time browser of these forums but this is my first post. I'm pulling my hair out. I've spent hours on this and have a looming deadline. I've a lot of experience in PS and AI but have only started using ID recently. I've searched the forums and web in general, I've found people with similar or the same problems (both on Mac and Windows) but can't find a solution anywhere. I really think there's got to be a simple solution but I can't figure it out.

I'm using ID CS6 on Mac OS X 10.7.5

I've created several mutilpage PDFs (not for print, for screen viewing) in ID using vector graphics from AI without any issue. However, this time I'm trying to create a multipage PDF that will be a tutorial for GarageBand that requires dozens of edited screen shots. When I place the cropped screen shots they come into ID really badly pixelated. I've tried bring them in as several different file types, PNG, BMP, TIFF, JPEG, but all with the same result. I've tried scaling them in different ways and exporting the PDF in different ways but the screen shots still look terrible.

I have the document set up for digital publishing and it's A4 Landscape. I've changed the display performance to High Quality Display but this shouldn't really matter because the exported PDF still has horrible looking screen shots.

Sadly...when I bring the same screen shots into Microsoft Word Mac they look absolutely perfect. I really, REALLY don't want to be forced to use Word to create a tutorial, or anything for that matter.

Can anybody help? Please!

Thanks in advance.

Colm

• 1. Re: Help Please! Serious Issues with Placing Screen Shots.
          Peter Spier Most Valuable Participant (Moderator)

Screen shots, by their nature, are low resolution. They are not expected to appear the same as photos or vector graphics.