16 Replies Latest reply: Feb 4, 2013 11:31 AM by Steve Grisetti RSS

Blurry Photos

MOyler45 Community Member

I'm using PE11 to make a picture slideshow video.

I imported high resolution photos and they are blurry upon playback.  After reading many similar posts, I realize I needed to resize my photos so they they won't be blurry.  In addition, I rendered my project.

Unfortunately after resizing my photos to no larger than 1000x750, my pictures are still blurry. I thought maybe they were too big, so I resized them again to half that size.  Still they are blurry.

I'm new to using PE11, so clearly I'm missing something. Also, many of these similar posts were answered with "Use Photoshop to resize your pictures."  I don't have PS (nor can I afford it), so please don't answer this post with anything pertaining to that program. 

Question is:  what do I need to do in order for my photos to be clear upon playback?

• 1. Re: Blurry Photos
          the_wine_snob Community Member

What is the Frame Size, in the Project Preset, that you chose at New Project?

Also, remember that if you are working on a DVD oriented Project, you are dealing with relatively low-resolution material (720 x 480), so if you are viewing that on a high-rez computer monitor, it will never look all that good.

In the Program Monitor, I recommend testing the sharpness of the Timeline material at 100% (scaling up the Program Monitor to fit the 100% Magnification, in lieu of choosing Fit).

Good luck,

Hunt

• 2. Re: Blurry Photos

Hunt,

Thanks for your response.

Yes, my project settings are 720x480 and my computer screen is high resolution. I imagine others who view my video will have high rez monitors as well. With that said, are the photos in my video destined to blurry?  The goal is to post the finished project online for friends and family to view, so not necessarily does it need to be on DVD.  (It's a video and photo montage of my son's birth).