10 Replies Latest reply on Jan 18, 2013 8:37 AM by VL Branko

Having problem with images imported from photoshop

VL Branko Level 2

I am totally new to Fireworks, I am redoing a site that was done using CS2, that is GoLive, Photoshop and Image Ready. I wanted to begin familiarizing myself with Fireworks by starting with using it to make all the web images for the site (jpgs, pngs, etc). It started well but after a while I started getting strange results from FW when I imported PSD files. The PSD imports fine into FW but when I want to "preview" or do a "2-UP" and see what it looks like as a jpg or png I just get a blank image where the jpg or png is supposed to be. However if I "export" the jpg it does get exported, but I would like to preview it to see what the quality is. This doesn't happen every time but at least 50% of the time in the last 2 days, and there seems to be no rhyme or reason behind why it works with some images but not others.

Another thing is that if I add a layer effect to the image such as "inner glow" to the PS image, and then flatten the image to make sure it gets exported to FW, it doesn't get exported. It is as if I never added the layer effect in PS.

Any help on these two issues would be greatly appreciated and help me to continue in perservering with FW.

VL Branko

• 1. Re: Having problem with images imported from photoshop
          groove25 Level 4

So Preview and 2-Up are failing 50% of the time... Have you tried using File > Image Preview instead?

Can you spell out exactly how you're importing the files into Fireworks? I'm guessing that you're simply opening the PSDs in Fireworks. (I think that's the only option, right?) Have you tried experimenting with the Photoshop File Open Options dialog that appears when you open the PSD in Fireworks—for example, choosing "Maintain Layer Editability…" vs "Maintain Photoshop Layer Appearance"? Also, have you tried saving the file as a native Fireworks PNG before using Preview and 2-Up?