5 Replies Latest reply on May 10, 2013 9:53 AM by Harm Millaard

Should I replace an AMD Radeon HD 7770 with Quadro Pro FX 3800 graphics card?

HkSkylerr Level 1

Hi Everyone,

I am an entry level editor that does in-house corporate videos.  Here is the situation (I hope this isn't too basic of a question):

I've just aquired Adobe's Master Collection for a newly purchased Dell XPS 8500,with an i7 processor, 24Gbs of Ram, a 1 TB disk drive and an entry level Radeon graphics card.   I intend(ed) to replace the AMD with the FX 3800 but in looking at the specs, the AMD card appears to be pretty powerful:  two GBs of GDDR5 memory and PCI Express 3.0 x 16 bus with max resolution of 4096 x 3112.  The FX 3800 was purchased a year ago, it has 1 GB of GDDR3 memory and PCI Express 2.0 x 16 bus interface but  has Adobe certification for GPU acceleation. The FX3800 has two display ports and a Dual Link DVI port with 2560x1600 resolution. 

I will shooting AVCHD on an NEX 5N.

Appreciate any thoughts you would have. 

• 1. Re: Should I replace an AMD Radeon HD 7770 with Quadro Pro FX 3800 graphics card?
          ECBowen Most Valuable Participant

You want an Nvidia card for the hardware MPE support. AMD cards are not supported right now on the PC side with Open CL. There is the option of getting a 600 series Geforce card versus using the Quadro which would give you the same or better specs than the AMD card.

Eric

ADK

• 2. Re: Should I replace an AMD Radeon HD 7770 with Quadro Pro FX 3800 graphics card?
            John T Smith Adobe Community Professional & MVP

>a 1 TB disk drive... shooting AVCHD

You REALLY need a second hard drive (never a partition on your main drive !!!) for your projects and video files

My 3 hard drives for video editing are configured as...

1 - 320Gig Boot for Win7 64bit Pro and ALL program installs (2)

2 - 320Gig data for Win7 paging swap file and video project files

When I create a project on #2 drive, the various work files follow,