4 Replies Latest reply on Jan 14, 2013 6:52 AM by ossaioputa

Question about copyright protection and digital signatures.

ossaioputa Level 1

Hi,

I'm a graphic designer who has designed a marketing concept that I want to propose to a company that I've never worked with before. This marketing concept is visual, and will be in print or digital form.

There's no quesiton of me going phsyically to the company to show them my idea, so i'll need to email it them. The problem is that they could recieve the email and not bother replying, and then just copy the idea. Or receive it, reject it, and then come up with something different but based on my idea.

Now, i know there're are legal limitations to how much i can protect a visual concept from having variations of it created. But still, I would like to know how i can use Acrobat's digital signature functions to, at least, be able to prove that ( maybe by some kind of time stamp) i was the first person to possess a physical or digital form of this idea.

So if the company were to copy or produce a variation of my work, i would be able to say (if it went to court) "look at my version of the document that was created on such and such date. Also, look at the date when the company signed and opened the document i sent them. And compare this to any dates on their own documents."

your advise will be much appreciated.

• 1. Re: Question about copyright protection and digital signatures.
          Dave Merchant MVP & Adobe Community Professional

You're talking about copyright law - assuming you and your recipients are in the UK, there is no requirement to register a creative work to obtain protection. A "typographical arrangement" has innate copyright under Berne which has nothing to do with the actual content, so a page design using Lorem Ipsum cannot be replicated without permission even if the recipient changes all the text. Just stick ©2013 YourName on the file.