8 Replies Latest reply on Jan 17, 2013 7:12 AM by bouldr

Insert new page/text frame into existing thread

bouldr

Hi,

I've got an Indesign document which has several pages.

Every single text frame on each page is linked (threaded) to the next one.

Now i've added an extra page inbetween two threaded pages, when i try to insert the new page to the existing threads (drag from Out port to In port) a problem occurs.

Because what happens is that not only a new connection is created but also the entire content of another page is pasted on top of my newly created page. (strangely this content isn't even from the page where i start from the Out port)

I also tried to delete all connections which exist (the idea was to make a completely new thread then), but when i do so some pages become blank.

So not only threads are deleted but also content.

I'm pretty new to Indesign so maybe i'm doing something wrong or stupid, but if anyone has got a clue what could be the problem here i would be very happy with it

Thanks already and best regards!

• 1. Re: Insert new page/text frame into existing thread
          Peter Spier Most Valuable Participant (Moderator)

Your use of "drag" bothers me. It might just be the way youare describing it, or you might be making an error.

Click the outport of the frame before the empty and release the mouse. Click inside the empty frame.

• 2. Re: Insert new page/text frame into existing thread
            bouldr Level 1

Hi Peter,

Thanks for your reply.

I probably didn't describe it very well ;-)

Because the way i make the connection is the way you describe it.

Must be something else then i guess.

Thanks again.

• 3. Re: Insert new page/text frame into existing thread

Can you post some screen shots?

Note that you should click the loaded cursor inside the empty frame, away from any guides, not on the in port.

• 4. Re: Insert new page/text frame into existing thread
                bouldr Level 1

Hi Peter,