4 Replies Latest reply on Jan 17, 2013 10:41 AM by Harm Millaard

First Timer Build Check

Color-Junkie

Hello Hardware Experts,

I have read many posts from your forum and believe that I have a much better idea of what parts to assemble for my new system, but I have several questions, would like some opinions, and perhaps a sanity check before making a purchase.

First a little about me and my intended use.  I have never built a system before, but I have worked on some (swapped in and out drives and memory, pulled and insert cards, etc).  I've threatened to build one many times over the years due mostly to cost savings, and that is the primary reason I'm considering it this time.  I want to keep the cost below $2K.  I do have a very technical background, unfortunately, I'm not nearly as knowledgable when it comes to hardware.  My primary use will be Photoshop.  However, I would like to be able to use other applications within the CS6 family.  For example, I may want to manipulate video (DSLR, AVCHD), use Premiere Pro, After Effects, etc.  I'm considering purchasing the Production Premium package so that I will have everything I may eventually want/need.  Additional info regarding my Photoshop requirements: I only shoot in RAW so all images must be processed; the RAW files will be quite large (between 18 - 24 MB each); after initial cleaning, the RAW files are saved to PSD which increases the size by a factor of ~3 (at least in CS2); side-by-side comparisons are often performed which means that potentially multiple copies of very large files will be in memory at the same time.  Finally, this will not be just a graphics box - it will have to perform regular daily duties that have nothing to do with photography.

My questions:

1) What is the difference between an Asus & EVGA GeForce GTX 660 video card?  This stuff is confusing.  They make like 14 different GeForce GTX 660 cards.  I'm not sure how the heck any neophyte is supposed to know which one to get.