11 Replies Latest reply on Jan 21, 2013 7:42 AM by Dave Dugdale

Dave’s Monster Video Editing Computer Build

Dave Dugdale

Just as a way to say thanks to all those that helped me on my first computer build, I created a video to share. I thank Harm at the end of the video.

• 1. Re: Dave’s Monster Video Editing Computer Build
          JTR23

Dave,

Love the video.

Just finished my first build and the last comment "may only take a few hours to build but it will take a lot longer to install the software" so true (at least for me).

Thanks for the video,

James

• 2. Re: Dave’s Monster Video Editing Computer Build
            Alex - DV411 Level 2

Second James on it, great video - looks like you were having boatloads of fun building your monster.

• 3. Re: Dave’s Monster Video Editing Computer Build
              Ann Bens Adobe Community Professional & MVP

I am no expert by far, but have seen my husband build honderd of pc's over the years.

Where is the anti static wristband/mat?

• 4. Re: Dave’s Monster Video Editing Computer Build
                JustinC123

Great video, I enjoyed that and it gives me the confidence to perhaps try a self build at some stage in the future.

Enjoy the new machine

• 5. Re: Dave’s Monster Video Editing Computer Build
                  Averdahl Level 4

Great video Dave!

I compared off loading times with SDHC cards, USB2 vs USB3, and with my old Class 4 cards the difference was close to zero. With my Sandisk Extreme Pro it was night and day. So, to get the real benefit of USB3, get faster cards. I assume that you already have faster cards though, but if you don't and wonder why the difference is minimal the answer is slow cards.

Btw, i have seen your videos for DSLR cameras and love them!

/Roger

• 6. Re: Dave’s Monster Video Editing Computer Build
                    Dave Dugdale Level 1

Roger,

Thanks!

Yes I was using a 95MB/s SD card for that test. 20MB/s for USB2 and 90MB/s for USB3.