11 Replies Latest reply: Feb 6, 2013 6:46 AM by Dr_B0B RSS

Removing Black Borders on PSE 9

Dr_B0B Community Member

Hello!

Before anything, I would like to state that I'm very new to editing with premiere elements (or editing at all).

Now, I'm having a problem with a video. I capture my clips off my screen using a program called Fraps. Once I've finished editing the video, the preview looks fine, so I click the share option and upload it to my YouTube account on PAL HD for YouTube 1920 x 1080.

Then, when I load the video on YouTube, the video haves an annoying black border surrounding it.

I have no idea how to fix this. I've tried looking it up but I haven't found anything of much use.

If you need any more details please say so and I'll post them in a response.

• 1. Re: Removing Black Borders on PSE 9
          Steve Grisetti MVP

There are a number of challenges with using FRAPS video in Premiere Elements. It's not a good fit at all.

But the reason you're seeing black borders is because the size of your FRAPs video is different than the size and/or dimensions of your video project.

What is the exact size, in pixels, of the are or the screen you are capturing with your FRAPs program?

• 2. Re: Removing Black Borders on PSE 9
            Dr_B0B Community Member

I believe it is 1366 x 768. But apart from the problem of the black borders I have not yet found another problem with FRAPS videos.

• 3. Re: Removing Black Borders on PSE 9
              Steve Grisetti MVP

If the area you're capturing can be resized to 1280x720, then it would fit into a Premiere Elements video frame.

All projects edited in Premiere Elements must fit into one of its frame sizes:

1920x1080

1280x720

640x480 (or, in non-square pixels, 720x480)

If your video fits perfectly into one of these video frames, you won't have black bars around it when you output your movie.

• 4. Re: Removing Black Borders on PSE 9
                the_wine_snob Community Member