7 Replies Latest reply on Jan 22, 2013 3:29 AM by Harm Millaard

Workstation for DSLR Video Editing

thejohndejong

Hi There,

I've been scouring through these forums looking for the answer to some of the questions I have about building a new workstation.

I plan to upgrade from a MBP (2.53 GHz Intel Core Duo w/ 4gb DDR3) to a desktop PC in order to work together short films and documentaries.

I want to use CS6, and don't imagine too much use of AE, due to the fact the bulk of my work is documentaries, though I will be needing a good system for colour correction.

My main question is re: video cards. I want to keep my build sub $2000 if I can, so if anyone thinks the following specs are a bad idea, please let me know.

Also, I am completely new to PC buildings, so I'm sorry about the noob questions and set up (especially re: case, psu and fans). I have genuinely spent around 10 hours looking for answers on these forums, but have been unable to find anything that matched my queries exactly.

If there is another thread which answers my questions, please feel free to direct me there.

CPU: i7 3770 quad core

MB: ASrock Z77 extreme4

RAM: G.Skill Ares F3-1866C10D-16GAB 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3

GPU: Galaxy GeForce GTX 660 Ti GC 2GB

OS HDD: SanDisk Extreme Solid State Drive 120GB

Working HDD: 2 x Seagate Barracuda 1TB ST1000DM003

PSU: Corsair GS-600 V2 Power Supply

Case: Corsair Vengeance C70 Mid Tower Gaming Case Military Green

Cooling: (no idea...)

If anyone has any suggestions, or would like to tell me why I should change things, i would be incredibly grateful.

I'm not a gamer, so I will be using this system purely for video editing.

For that matter, I'm unsure whether to use Windows 8 or 7....

Anyhow, any feedback would be great.

• 1. Re: Workstation for DSLR Video Editing
          thejohndejong Level 1

The main trouble I've been having is working out what GPU to use...