9 Replies Latest reply on Feb 20, 2014 1:45 PM by claycalv

How do I make my Timeline play forward or reverse depending on its current location?

Jared_DA

I'm attempting to make a side scrolling site. I have a wide div set up in the main timeline that animates 1000px at a time on the x-coordinate between the labels I have set for each "page".

I would like to click a button and go to the associated label and stop. I am faced with 2 problems:

1. Sometimes this would require the playhead to move in reverse rather than forward.

2. I originally had stop triggers on the timeline under the labels but if I am able to get my first problem fixed these triggers would stop the animatin before reaching the label.

I'm just learning java so I'm guessing I need an if statement and a function.

Example of what I'm trying to figure out:

I want to press work button and play to label "work".

If I'm at label "home" I need to play(); and stop at label "work". If I were at label "blog" I would need to playReverse(); to label "work".

Please help! I've been going looney trying to figure it out!

• 1. Re: How do I make my Timeline play forward or reverse depending on its current location?
          ajguy711 Level 1

I believe this should do it, though I could be misunderstanding your layout here.

At each of your labels, select insert trigger and put a sym.stop(); command in. This will stop the timeline each time it reaches that label, no matter from which direction.

Have your button either execute sym.play(); or sym.playReverse(); to move forwards or backwards.

This final step may take some work. Ideally, each "page" should be it's own symbol. That way, they can run animations independant of the main timeline. Have the triggers in the main timeline play the symbols in addition to the stop command.

Hopefully that makes sense and helps you out!

• 2. Re: How do I make my Timeline play forward or reverse depending on its current location?
            Jared_DA Level 1