14 Replies Latest reply on Jan 24, 2013 8:14 AM by BornaAzimi

How to control dynamically created symbols

BornaAzimi

Hi, I'm new in edge but thanks to adobe forum that helped me a lot.

I'm trying to use ".createChildSymbol" to bring my symbols from the library to my stage. And in each symbol I have an OUT label, so every time a new symbol is called by a particular button, the last one plays from OUT label and new one appears at the same place.

It's all easy for two symbols and I do not need to set any vaiable for them. But I have almost 180 symbols, and a menu of buttons to call them, so every button needs to play the OUT label of the current symbol and also plays the new one and make it as the current one.

I would be truly thankful if someone help me to fix this problem.

sym.test = sym.createChildSymbol("test", "Stage");

sym.getComposition().getStage().setVariable("current", "test");

var current = sym.getComposition().getStage().setVariable("current");

sym.current.getSymbolElement().css({position:'absolute', display:'inline-block', top:167, left:91});

• 1. Re: How to control dynamically created symbols
          pmfr01 Level 2

I had the same issue (though I didn't use ".createChildSymbol") some time ago - check this thread.

pmfr

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: How to control dynamically created symbols
            BornaAzimi Level 1

Thanks for the reply,

I created the http://mcm.my/ while ago without using the ".createChildSymbol" and it works as I want, but in the new one I'm looking for a way to not bring all the symbols to my Stage, instead use the ".createChildSymbol" if possible.

• 3. Re: How to control dynamically created symbols
              pmfr01 Level 2

Check this post instead.

pmfr

1 person found this helpful
              • 4. Re: How to control dynamically created symbols
                BornaAzimi Level 1

Thanks again,