3 Replies Latest reply on Jan 27, 2013 11:54 AM by Michael L Hale

javascript using ScriptUI for resizing images

mrfsrf5

Hi all,

this is my first post here and i must say that im a newbie in javascript.

Anyway, Im trying to create a script that will open dialog box where a user can enter dimensions (in pixels and using only one "edittext") and by storing that number in variable for resizing.

Here is my code. Problem is that no matter what number am i entering into the field, photoshop resizes the image to 1px width to 1 px height.

Any thoughts why?

app.displayDialogs = DialogModes.NO;

app.preferences.rulerUnits = Units.PIXELS;

var dlg = new Window('dialog', 'Alert Box Builder',[100,100,480,245]);

dlg.msgPnl = dlg.add('panel', [25,15,355,130], 'Messages');

dlg.msgPnl.titleSt = dlg.msgPnl.add('statictext', [15,15,105,35], 'Alert box title:'); 
dlg.msgPnl.titleEt = dlg.msgPnl.add('edittext', [115,15,315,35], '500');

dlg.buttonRef = dlg.msgPnl.add('button',  [15, 70, 140, 95] , 'OK', { name:'ok'});

dlg.msgPnl.titleEt.onChange = function(){

var RefDimension = this.text;   

app.activeDocument.resizeImage(RefDimension,undefined,undefined,undefined); //RESIZE IMAGE TO FINAL DIMENSIONS

alert(RefDimension); // this is only for checkup to see if the photshop is parsing the correct number, which is fine.

}

dlg.show();

• 1. Re: javascript using ScriptUI for resizing images
          Paul Riggott Level 6

This might help...

app.displayDialogs = DialogModes.NO;
          app.preferences.rulerUnits = Units.PIXELS;

var dlg = new Window('dialog', 'Alert Box Builder',[100,100,480,245]); 
          dlg.msgPnl = dlg.add('panel', [25,15,355,130], 'Messages'); 
          dlg.msgPnl.titleSt = dlg.msgPnl.add('statictext', [15,15,105,35], 'Alert box title:');
          dlg.msgPnl.titleEt = dlg.msgPnl.add('edittext', [115,15,315,35], '500'); 
          dlg.buttonRef = dlg.msgPnl.add('button',  [15, 70, 140, 95] , 'OK', { name:'ok'});

dlg.buttonRef.onClick = function(){