7 Replies Latest reply on Jan 30, 2013 6:30 PM by Sudha K

Read CSV in acrobat javascript

Sudha K Level 1

Hi,

I am new to acrobat javascript. I want  to get the data from the CSV file and do process in active pdf file(opened current document) .Please, any one of you help , by provinding code for this.

thanks in advance

• 1. Re: Read CSV in acrobat javascript
          Dave Merchant MVP & Adobe Community Professional

If the CSV file is an attachment to the PDF you can use the util object's methods in a document-level script to read it into a string, e.g.

var oFile = this.getDataObjectContents("MyFile.csv");

var cFile = util.stringFromStream(oFile, "utf-8");

In Acrobat X and later, if the CSV file is external to the PDF and the script is running at folder-level you can use another method to read it:

var oFile = util.readFileIntoStream("/c/MyFolder/MyFile.csv");

var cFile = util.stringFromStream(oFile, "utf-8");

You can then use JavaScript's split() method to convert the string into lines and fields, making sure you handle the contents of the file properly (e.g. quoted or empty fields, etc.). See http://stackoverflow.com/questions/1293147/javascript-code-to-parse-csv-data for some example functions that can cope with quotes and nulls.

See http://www.adobe.com/content/dam/Adobe/en/devnet/acrobat/pdfs/js_api_reference.pdf for more information on the util object.

• 2. Re: Read CSV in acrobat javascript
            try67 MVP & Adobe Community Professional

Just my 2 cents on this matter... Even though readFileIntoStream is very handy, it has an undocumented limit and will stop reading data from a file after a certain amount of characters (I don't remember exacly how many, but it's not that much).

The biggest problem is that it doesn't throw an error or anyhing like that when that happens, it just stops mid stream...