6 Replies Latest reply on Jan 28, 2013 9:30 AM by Rick Gerard

Text on rear of 3d object

Richard M Knight Adobe Community Professional & MVP

I'm still very new with AFX, could someone point me in the right direction to look to do the following.

In Photoshop I have cut a jigsaw puzzle in to its 40 pieces and put one on each of the 40 layers. I intend in AFX to tumble in the pieces in 3d to make the completed puzzle, this I can do, but I also want to put text on to the rear of the pieces so that we can read it as the pieces tumble. How do I put the text on the backs of the puzzle pieces?

Many thanks

Richard Knight

• 1. Re: Text on rear of 3d object
          Mylenium Most Valuable Participant

The text would have to be aprt of the puzzle pieces layers...

Mylenium

• 2. Re: Text on rear of 3d object

But the text needs to be on the back of the piece so as the piece tumbles we see the picture on on side and the text on the other.

• 3. Re: Text on rear of 3d object
              Rick Gerard Adobe Community Professional & MVP

If you want to stick with your original concept duplicate your puzzle pieces so that each has a mirror image. The easiest way to do this would be to flip the entire image horizontally in Photoshop. Save the copy as a different file add your text to each piece, then use the first psd and all of the layers for the front and the second for the back. Then you duplicate your text layer 40 times and sandwich each text layer between a puzzle piece and use layer clipping in Photoshop to mask out all of the text except the portion over the puzzle piece.