10 Replies Latest reply on Feb 5, 2013 6:27 PM by Aspiring01

Request for sanity check on a new build.

Aspiring01

Hi all,

This is my first post here, so if I make any breaches of protocol please understand I mean no harm.  I am a bit of a newbie/hobbyist (I've built a few computers but not for a few years and never a NLE build) and I'm trying to build a video editing machine to handle primarily AVCHD footage in Premiere Pro CS5 (and probably upgrade in the semi-near future).  The footage would mainly be interviews of around an hour in length, typically one clip with maybe some titles and definitely captions/subtitles.  Think Ken Burns style documentary interview stuff.  I've read many of the posts here on building video editing machines and they've been amazingly helpful, especially all of the guides put out by Haram, Bill, John, et al.  So thank you all for doing those. And now I'd really appreciate it if you guys could give me a sanity check on what I've picked so far.  I need it to handle the above specifications and I'm trying really hard to make it if not future proof at lease future resistant.  Oh and I'm slightly over what I'd prefer to spend at this point, so any input on where I could cut some costs would be very appreciated.  Yes, I realize future proof and over cost do not combine well, and I guess I lean more towards spending more for greater value if need be.

What I have so far:

CPU:

Intel i7-3820

CPU cooling:

Recommendation requested.  Don't know what really to look for.  I'm leaning towards water cooled.

Mobo:

ASUS P9X79 WS Intel X79 Motherboard

Case:

Cooler Master SGC-5000-KKN1 CM Storm Trooper Full Tower Case - ATX, Micro ATX, XL-ATX, 9x 5.25" Ext Bays, 2x 120mm Red LED Fans, 1x 140mm Fan, 1x 200mm Fan, 2x USB 3.0, 2x USB 2.0, 1x eSATA(34.65 lbs)

PSU:

COOLER MASTER Silent Pro Gold Series RSA00-80GAD3-US 1000W ATX 12V v2.3 / EPS 12V v2.92 SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Modular Active PFC Power Supply

Videocard: