8 Replies Latest reply on Jan 30, 2013 9:12 PM by yudengaz

How to copy Chinese text from MS Word to Indesign CS5.5

yudengaz Level 1

Hello, I am a beginner and wanted to simply copy Chinese characters from MS WOrd to indesign CS 5.5. But it showed up in indesign as a bunch of squares. ANyone knows how to do it right? Thanks

• 1. Re: How to copy Chinese text from MS Word to Indesign CS5.5
          [Jongware] Most Valuable Participant

Cange the applied font to one that actually contains Chinese characters.

You'll find a bunch of those fonts grouped together near the bottom of your font list -- look for names such as Mincho, Kozuka, Fansong. If you cannot find any of these, the InDesign installation disk comes with a bunch of free high quality fonts, courtesy of Adobe.

• 2. Re: How to copy Chinese text from MS Word to Indesign CS5.5
            Joel Cherney Adobe Community Professional & MVP

If you cannot find any of these, the InDesign installation disk comes with a bunch of free high quality fonts, courtesy of Adobe.

Use those.

The chances are quite small that you will offend your Chinese readership by setting text in an overtly Japanese font like Mincho or Kozuka - but the chance is a non-zero chance. All the right glyphs are there, of course (thank you Unihan), but typographic standards differ between the two languages, and there's no sense in taking the risk.

• 3. Re: How to copy Chinese text from MS Word to Indesign CS5.5
              yudengaz Level 1

REALLY appreciated, Jongware

• 4. Re: How to copy Chinese text from MS Word to Indesign CS5.5
                [Jongware] Most Valuable Participant

Joel Cherney wrote:

If you cannot find any of these, the InDesign installation disk comes with a bunch of free high quality fonts, courtesy of Adobe.

Use those.