4 Replies Latest reply on Jan 31, 2013 9:24 AM by B3dd03s

Inserting text into a PDF

B3dd03s

Greetings all!

I'm quite new to InDesign, but I'm thrilled to see such a vibrant community on the official forums. I'm getting along quite well with it, absolutley awesome program, I may be in love...

But, I've hit something of a problem. I'm making a digital sales brouchre, 99% of the text it it will remain the same, but there are a few sections where text will need to be changed by the sales guys in our office (client name, client requirements and costings)

Acrobat Pro is too expensive for such simple edits, and I've tried inserting form fields as a workaround but found out that you cannot change the font from Times!

I'm using InDesign CS6. Is there anything I can do to make these small sections easily editable? This document will be edited by end users so needless to say it needs to be simple!

Failing that is there any way the text can be inserted dynamically? For example, the sales guys insert the text and costs into a web form, and the PDF is spat out at the other end?

I know PDF's are finalised files, but I hope there is an adaquate workaround! Anything to get them to stop using Microsoft Word!!!

• 1. Re: Inserting text into a PDF
          MW Design Level 4

Welcome--and the answer is no as regards editing the PDF.

If I were tasked with this where variable data had to be present, I would design it in such a way that the brochures could be pre-printed. Then I would set up a Word document that had a text frame(s) where the sales people entered the variable data and print to the pre-printed brochures.

Or, the brochure is simply the brochure, pricing and other variable data is not part of the brochure. And the sales people would use the method which has been used for eons--a cover letter.