2 Replies Latest reply on Feb 1, 2013 12:18 PM by RjL190365

Need Build Advice/Critique Please

particlerealities

This is my first post here so I'll start with a little info about myself and my video editing needs.  I'm an amateur when it comes to Adobe Premiere.  I used Vegas for a few videos.  I now have a subscription to the Creative Cloud, and have made a few videos in the past for work (taking 3D animations and splicing segments together, adding a couple logos, effects, etc. - nothing too fancy) as well as a couple for personal use.  My edits consist mostly of splicing video clips (from my Canon 60D DSLR), overlaying a music track, then sticking an intro at the beginning...  Nothing fancy.  I'd certainly like to do better and increase my skillset, create better intros, etc...

Aside from my 8-5, I run a successful home based leather holster business in my spare time.  But, making holsters is a TON of work, so...  early on, I made a few tutorial videos available via online rental (pay a few bucks, get viewing access for 24 hours).  They sold pretty well, but when I upgraded my website I couldn't get the rental system to work so I decided to make them freely avaialble on YouTube and try monetizing them with little success so far.  With my new videos, I might like to switch back to the rental system if I can make it work on my website.

My videos are generally just tutorials intended to teach people how to make leather holsters and other leather items - I guess you'd say I'm a YouTube'r, though I only have a handfull of videos out there currently (my current computer ran out of storage space and it's too old and slow to be of much use).  My family photo collection is around 100GB and growing (3 young kids).  I use Photoshop pretty heavily at work, and will use it at home, though less intensively (cleaning up pattern scans, editing photos, etc.).