3 Replies Latest reply on Nov 17, 2007 12:43 PM by kglad

Writing a simple class

brian914 Level 1
      I would like to write a class that will draw a gradient for the whole background of my file. I had written this in my file and it was working, but I would like to put that code into a class now, as I am trying to learn how to write classes. I am totally new to classes, so bare with me, I don't know what I am doing... more guessing at this point really. Here is what I have so far.

My class is called BgGradient.as and holds the following AS so far.

class BgGradient
      {
      var gradient01:String;
      var gradient02:String;

var fillType:String = "linear";
      var colors:Array = [gradient01, gradient02];
      var alphas:Array = [100, 100];
      var ratios:Array = [0, 255];
      var matrix:Object = {matrixType:"box", x:0, y:0, w:Stage.width, h:Stage.height, r:(90/180)*Math.PI};
      var spreadMethod:String = "pad";
      var interpolationMethod:String = "linearRGB";
      var focalPointRatio:Number = 1;

function BgGradient() {
      beginGradientFill(fillType, colors, alphas, ratios, matrix, spreadMethod, interpolationMethod, focalPointRatio);
      moveTo(0, 0);
      lineTo(Stage.width, 0);
      lineTo(Stage.width, Stage.height);
      lineTo(0, Stage.height);
      lineTo(0, 0);
      endFill();
      }

}

I would like gradient01 and gradient02 to be hex values that I can specify in my main file. What am I missing here? Do I need to import anything? How about the drawing API? How would I call this from my main file?

Thanks a lot for any help with this. I really appreciate any help!
        • 1. Re: Writing a simple class
          kglad Adobe Community Professional & MVP
          pass gradient01 and gradient02, as well as a movieclip (like the main timeline), as parameters in new BgGradient constructor statement. and define color in your constructor.
          • 2. Re: Writing a simple class
            brian914 Level 1