1 Reply Latest reply on Nov 19, 2007 10:26 PM by atta707

RIA Controller Design, Architecture Question

Mikey0727
      I am pretty new to web development, but have been a programmer for quite some time. I am barely getting my arms wrapped around all the different types of web development technology and admittedly don’t understand a lot.

A little Background ---

I am kicking around trying to build a controller app, which will have a bunch of hardware attached to a server, running a web server so it can be controlled remotely.

I think I am going to use ASP.NET and C #for the server side and Adobe Flex for the GUI Client Side because I saw some samples and it looks great.

The server side will have a database tracking states of all the Hardware attached to server.

Basic Functionality Needed ---

When the user clicks a control on the webpage:
      Client sends a message to server, HW state changes on server
      Database gets updated on server
      Client then updates GUI properties in the flex side to reflect new status.

If something happens to the server side forcing HW status changes:
      Server Sends message to Client
      Database gets updated on server
      Client updates GUI properties in the flex side to reflect new status

Now the Questions ---

What happens on initial load, or when no one is accessing the server?

In other words, I would like the server side to continually update the web page that will be served to the client side so that any time a client access the web server, the GUI reflects the current state.

I do not want the user to connect, load all the controls in the flex project, and then poll every device on the server side to synchronize the states of all the items on the client GUI to the hardware on the server (this would take forever)