5 Replies Latest reply on Aug 20, 2006 6:06 AM by Newsgroup_User

Total newbie trying to get started.

cpekarek
      I have a domain name and am going to sign up with a web hosting company. If I purchase Contribute, can I use it to design a new web site or is Contribute only used to edit existing web pages? TIA
        • 1. Re: Total newbie trying to get started.
          arao2k6 Level 2
          Hi ,

You can use Contribute to create new pages on your website. Contribute also provides a set of starter webpages bundled with it to get you started instantly !!
          • 2. Re: Total newbie trying to get started.
            Level 7
            Contribute can only be used to edit a site that's already built. It can
            allow you to create new pages at an existing site, but it's not possible to
            create pages from scratch and build a new site. If you're looking for
            something easy you might look at NetObjects Fusion for Windows or Freeway
            for the Mac.

On 8/2/06 4:31 PM, in article earcjv$fc2$1@forums.macromedia.com, "cpekarek"
            <webforumsuser@macromedia.com> wrote:

> I have a domain name and am going to sign up with a web hosting company. If I
            > purchase Contribute, can I use it to design a new web site or is Contribute
            > only used to edit existing web pages? TIA

• 3. Re: Total newbie trying to get started.
              Level 7
              Perhaps I'm misunderstanding what you mean, Art, but you can create
              pages from scratch, and thus create a whole new site using Contribute.
              For example, my company just setup a new website within IIS for me, with
              no files within it, i.e. a totally empty site. Using Contribute I can
              create brand new pages from scratch and publish them to this new site,
              thus creating a brand new website.
              • 4. Re: Total newbie trying to get started.
                arao2k6 Level 2