1 Reply Latest reply on Feb 5, 2013 8:28 PM by Pete Berthet

Media Storage and Handling

VideoEnigma

I am a recreational/hobbyist videographer (Interviewing Local Historians, video family events and other sundry local activities).  I am about to build a video editing machine and need to develop a plan to organize all my editing assets.

I have two questions: One a version of a question that I have seen dozens of times and one that I cannot find any answers to at all (Perhaps I am just not looking in the right place)

First, the endless hard drive question:

I intend to work on a project or two at a time, generally with 10-20 GB of video, then archive the project on a multi-TB NAS. For my editing machine, would the following hard drive setup be sufficient and would any of them benefit from an additional drive set up as a RAID0?

Boot Drive/Software Drive - 480GB SSD
      Projects Drive - 120GB SSD
      Pagefile, Media Cache - 120GB SSD
      Previews, Exports - 120GB SSD

This brings me to my second question:

What is the best method for handling media files?

I want to be able to do rough cuts on my laptop, then move the project to the workstation for final editing, effects and final rendering.  Then once I am through with the project, archive all the assets to the NAS.  Also, if I have digital juice music and sound FX stored on the NAS, do I copy them to the project folder then import them, or leave them on the NAS?  Then when I move the project to the editing workstation, do I just point the project back to the NAS? 

Does know of a tutorial that can assist me figure this out?  I have been ending up with bits and pieces of projects everywhere and there has GOT to be a better way.

Regards,

• 1. Re: Media Storage and Handling
          Pete Berthet

The way i generally work at home is as follows

SSD System Drive

SSD Project Files Drive

2TB RAID SATA Media Drive