9 Replies Latest reply on Feb 8, 2013 11:25 AM by BobLevine

Absolute vs Relative file paths in CS6 8.01?

1027Consulting Level 1

I have been using this same setup successfully for a couple of years now. I work on a magazine. The indd files and all the photos, etc are in a Dropbox. I layout the publication and then the editor can open the document when I am done for proofreading etc. It has worked out great.

Until today. I just finished the latest issue. The editor opened it and was presented with a dialog box stating that there were 179 missing links. I don't get this message when I open the file.

It would appear that indesign is now using absolute file paths? Anyone else seeing this? I believe they were relative paths before.

If so, is there a way to quickly locate all the files? They are all nested 2-3 levels deep into individual folders for each article.

• 1. Re: Absolute vs Relative file paths in CS6 8.01?
          BobLevine MVP & Adobe Community Professional

Select all of the links in the links panel and open the panel menu. Choose utilities>copy links to> and copy the links to a folder that's accessible to the editor in the DB folder.

Make sure to save the INDD file afterward. You may have to use file>save as.

Bob

• 2. Re: Absolute vs Relative file paths in CS6 8.01?
            1027Consulting Level 1

The problem with that is we would then loose the folder structure - which must be maintained.

As I said this has worked flawlessly for the past two years. The last issue was done in late November. Have there been any ID updates lately?

What's interesting is the file paths:

File shows linked when I open the INDD file and it's Full Path is:

/Volumes/Big Jobs/Dropbox/BAG Graphics/2013/2013-1 Spring/Articles/David Swendseid Project X part II/1- ARRIVAL .JPG

The styled path:

Big Jobs:Dropbox:BAG Graphics:2013:2013-1 Spring:Articles:David Swendseid Project X part II:1- ARRIVAL .JPG