11 Replies Latest reply on Feb 17, 2013 5:29 AM by Harm Millaard

System upgrade for Premiere cs6

aaaariel Level 1

Hello everybody,

After reading so many helpful threads and discussions I've finally reached the unavoidable point where I'm totaly confused with so many specs and options. So, I tried to narrow it down and would appreciate every help or comment.

This is where I have to note that English is far form being my native language and that prices in my area are somewhat 20%-30% higher than newegg/amazon. Nevertheless, references to products there are welcome.

So, lets get to the point

I am a Premiere Pro Cs6 editor, starting my way in After Effects. My projects varies from long music shows recorded on DSLR's and AVCHD Panasonic ag-130, and from short, multiple effects, music videos and clips.

My current limping horse (served me very well) is this:

Q9550 (stock)

Gigabyte EP45-UD3LR

4*2GB corsair xms2

PNY GTX 470

Seasonic m12II 620W

500 wd Blue (OS)

2*samsung  spinpoint f3 (scratch)

Coolermaster cm690 II Midtower ATX

My budget is not certain but I would really like to try and keep some of the current system features and put the money where it matters most. So, CPU, Mobo and RAM must go but GPU/Case/PSU- if thier avoidable- better.

Like many others I ask the i7-3770k vs i7-3930k question (I do intend to oc just a little in the near future). Knowing that a 3930k means definitely a better PSU.

Option 1:                                                      Option 2:

i7-3770k                                                       i7-3930k                          

Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H                              Asrock x79 extreme6                        

Seasonic X series x 850                               corsiar hex 1050

both options:

Gigabyte GV-N670OC-2GD

4*8 GB (either balistix sports or the G.skill ripjaws x series)

240GB  sandisk extreme (os-got as a present 830 not an option : ) )

2*WD red 1 TB raid 0 for scratch.