2 Replies Latest reply on Feb 12, 2013 6:10 AM by SJRiegel

Fixing my mistakes, character style question

garethirwin1234 Level 1

Hello.

I am self taught on indesign and the many hundreds of files I have use charcater styles instead of paragraph styles. Having been on a course I understand the errors of my ways, but of course there files are all good otherwise.

Since then I convinced the company to move to indesign from publisher but they were too scared ont he whole mac thing so got PCs. All my files in general use helvetica neau in one form or another as available in the mac font menu.

Not available on PC so they have purchased it, but its a different kind of font, so when opening my files it complains the fonts are not available.

So aside from the very tedious effort of moving through every thing line by line is there a methodolgy to A. change to the new font, B. move from a chracter to Paragraph style?

My current methodology is to open the file, click ok to missing fonts etc. Create or load paragraph styles, select the text pargarpah by paragraph, hole Alt whilst applying the style then at the end deleting the chracter styles so they never darken my doorstep again, but its reallllly slow.

Any ideas appricated, this trasfer to indesign has so far been reasonably painful!

• 1. Re: Fixing my mistakes, character style question
          Willi Adelberger Most Valuable Participant

I think it is a lot of work. I get often such documents (and often I get documents converted from Quark which have Character Styes applied everywhere).

1. Delete all Character styles.

2. Create Paragraph Styles based on the real praragraphs. Take care not to base any style on the preinstalled [Basic Paragraph] style. Take care to build up a usefull dependency.

3. With find and replace you can apply all paragraph styles in the document.

I am sure that this can be scripted too, but I am not an expert in scripting.

• 2. Re: Fixing my mistakes, character style question