25 Replies Latest reply on Mar 18, 2013 1:59 PM by Harm Millaard

Feedback for New SSD System

John Ratard Level 1

I have been editing since 1998 with mediocre systems.  It is time to get serious because the time spent in rendering has not been motivating.  Ranging from around 3 hours then to 20 minutes now for a 1 hour avi file is not bad, but I should be able to do better with 22nm, 3D, and SSD technology.  I would appreciate feedback from a practical working perspective.  Here is a proposal for a custom system:

Mobo:             ASUS P8Z77-V PRO

CPU:                Intel i7 3770K

RAM:               DDR3 1600 4 x 8G

SSD:                 4 x Intel 240 SSDSC2CW240A3K5

Video Card:    Sapphire HD 7750 OC 1GB DDR5 128 bit PCI

Cost:                $2280 + tax

The cost for SSD looks reasonable now.  However, I have always used HDs and I do not have experience with SSDs.  My existing system uses 4 1TB drives, the largest space used in  the video source 1TB HD is about 550GB.  However, this includes several videos that do not all have to be kept here at the same time.

Is the choice of SSD a good choice at this time versus RAID HDs or a combination e.g. 1 SSD for program files and 3 HD RAID pairs for the remaining?

Is the arrangement of the 4 SSD drives (#1 for Programs, #2 for project and source video, #3 for audio, and #4 for rendered video) a good arrangement for speed?

With the choice of 120 SSD for about $500 less or 480 SSD for about $1000 more, what should I be using for a working SSD size with avi files up to 70 GB? 

If I choose an SSD size, is it expandable if I find I need more space?            

• 1. Re: Feedback for New SSD System
          Harm Millaard Level 7

Several remarks on this proposed build:

SSD:             4 x Intel 240 SSDSC2CW240A3K5