9 Replies Latest reply on Feb 14, 2013 1:49 PM by lisaellensegal

Advice for logical workflow for color correcting and color grading

lisaellensegal Level 1

I am an experienced user of  PPRO CS5.  I am a novice with color correcting and color grading.  I am also just barely competant in AE CS5.  It has been suggested that I use AE for color correcting my footage.  Can you advise me as to the most logical workflow for doing this in coordination with PPRO CS5?  Are there some tutorials that you recommend?  I subscribe to Lynda.com and I think that they have some great tutorials, I am unsure as to where to begin looking and what to search for.

Thanks so much,

Lisa

• 1. Re: Advice for logical workflow for color correcting and color grading
          Dave LaRonde Level 6

I recommend looking at Color Finesse, which you already have in AE.  There are Color Finesse tutorials on the Creative Cow, and I expect there are some here on the Adobe Web site as well.  You could find them by using the search term color finessse in AE's online Help.

• 2. Re: Advice for logical workflow for color correcting and color grading
            lisaellensegal Level 1

Thank you Dave.  I will explore tutorials.  What is the work flow?  Do I do a rough edit in PPRO, bring into AE and back to PPRO to finish project and then render?

I guess my question is two parts. 

First, what is the logical workflow for color correcting working with both PPRO and AE?

Second, which effect (you answered this part - Color Finesse) and which tuturials (also answered)?

Thanks,

Lisa

• 3. Re: Advice for logical workflow for color correcting and color grading
              Dave LaRonde Level 6

If your workflow ONLY is within Adobe Crative Suite, I'd say Daynamic Link would be effective in getting edited video into AE for color correction.