12 Replies Latest reply on Jan 4, 2016 10:53 PM by Rick Gerard

Individual Frames from Movie (Bulk)

amhainen

I'm using CS6 and with either Premiere or After Effects, I import image sequences and generate videos. Is there a way that I can take a video and extract a picture every 1 second (or other interval)?

Example:

If I start with a 60 second video, can I bulk export 60 frames (one at each second mark)?

Perhaps I need to use a different piece of software? I'm new to video processing. Thanks for the help.

P.S. Here's my masterpiece made from image sequences: http://www.youtube.com/embed/4oCCc1bri7s?rel=0#t=3m48s

• 1. Re: Individual Frames from Movie (Bulk)
          Dave LaRonde Level 6

Is this time-lapse work?  Doing this task in Premiere may be easier.

• 2. Re: Individual Frames from Movie (Bulk)
            amhainen Level 1

Well, I'm making a lot of time lapse videos from still images (edited original post for example). I'm trying to figure out how to go backwards. If I record video, can I extract still frames every second or every 30 frames?

As an engineer, I'll often get a list of events (timestamps) and I match up the closest picture with that event. If I have a video, I'm out of luck. But if I could explode the video into single frames (I don't need all 30FPS or whatever), then I could have a list of pictures to match events.

Hopefully that clears up what I'm trying to do. Thanks for the reply!

P.S. This picture is a good example of why I like to record single images. From this hierarchy, I can take a time and find the closest image. If I could make a video into a list of images, it'd help a ton!

time.png

• 3. Re: Individual Frames from Movie (Bulk)
              Dave LaRonde Level 6

If I record video, can I extract still frames every second or every 30 frames?