10 Replies Latest reply on Mar 14, 2013 6:38 PM by rejdmast1

Is Warp Stabilizer stable yet? Has it been patched?

dsc106918

Read that Warp Stabilizer was unstable and caused problems with project files. Was best to use seperately from main project?

I have 9 hours of footage (MTS h.264 files from AF100) from a documentary I shot. For a final edit of 6-7 minutes. Every shot needs to be stabilized as I shot with that being the plan (slight shake in all clips).

This is my first project in PP CS6, coming from FCP 7.0 where I used smoothcam on EVERYTHING without issue.

Can I do so without worry here?

ALSO: Project save times and load times are very slow. A 5 year old 32-bit program FCP7 loaded/saved faster... what gives? I am running on a PC with 32gb RAM, 6 core 3.2ghz, GTX 670 enabled via hack

• 1. Re: Is Warp Stabilizer stable yet? Has it been patched?
          jstrawn Adobe Employee

I don't know of any specifc problem report ID's regarding destructive warp stabilizer results at the project level, so I can't say if any bugs have actually been fixed for you or not.

But I can tell you that I did a lot of warp stabilization with CS 6.02 and never saw any destructive problems. Yes, there were cases where the warp process did not do the greatest job, and even some cases where it failed altogether, but that was usually with warp-unfriendly footage (if you know what I mean), and even then it didn't wreak havoc with my project; I just had to tweak the paremeters or use better source media.

• 2. Re: Is Warp Stabilizer stable yet? Has it been patched?
            Jim_Simon Level 8

Every shot needs to be stabilized as I shot with that being the plan

That's a bad plan.  Stabilizing in post should be reserved for when you muck up the shot.  You should never shoot crappy on purpose with the plan to fix it in post.

• 3. Re: Is Warp Stabilizer stable yet? Has it been patched?
              dsc106918 Level 1