9 Replies Latest reply on Feb 22, 2013 1:25 PM by gkaiseril

Using Bookmark Names to create Custom Stamps

Bent2Bits®

Hi all,

I am a VB programmer that is struggling with a task in JS.  I am trying to do 1 of 2 things:  I would prefer #2.

1.Create a custom stamp using the filename.

or

2.Create a custom stamp using the bookmark name (which in turn will be the filename)

I have been foooling around for a number of hours trying to get this to work out, here's what I have done so far:

I have created a stamp, the stamp has two text boxes that I need to fill from one string. The string is in the format of
      "08363-G-5109-DWG-R-00001_A.pdf" with a varying number of characters before the underscore, but always the same after the underscore. In the first text box I need
      08363-G-5109-DWG-R-00001 which I get with

Code:
      event.value = event.source.source.documentFileName.slice(0,-6); this work great. The second box needs to contain the letter(s) that are between the "_" and the ".pdf" and everything I have tried doesn't produce a result.

I focused most of my time trying to split the filename up, figuring the same logic would be applied to the bookmarks.

The things I have tried:

[CODE]

var str = event.source.source.documentfilename;

var strt = str.lastindexof("_");

var end = str.lastindexof(".");

event.value = str.substring(strt,end);

and

var arrStr = event.source.source.documentfilename.split("_");  ' **Harcoding = "08363-G-5109-DWG-R-00001_A.pdf" works**

var arrstr2 = arrStr[1].split(".");                                             'But isn't very dynamic

event.value = arrstr2[0];

and

var str = event.source.source.documentfilename;

var arrStr = str.split("_");

var arrstr2 = arrStr[1].split(".");

event.value = arrstr2[0];

[/CODE]

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated!

Bent

• 1. Re: Using Bookmark Names to create Custom Stamps
          George_Johnson MVP & Adobe Community Professional