5 Replies Latest reply on Nov 27, 2007 6:37 PM by stephan.k

Touch Screens

stephan.k Level 1
      Hello Forum

I am about to dive into a Touch Screen Kiosk Project. I've never done that before. I have two specific questions and one general question:

- What mouseactions work with Touch Screens? Is it only onMouseDown? Or both onMouseDown and onMouseUp? Does anything else work?

- Is there a way to figure out if there's any activity on the screen? They are hoping to create some sort of screensafer / start screen that should come up if no one is using the kiosk for a while. I guess I could just always reset some sort of timer with every mouseDown action, once the timer goes down to zero I switch to the screensafer. Any better approach?

- Also are there any other advice you'd like to share with a Flash Kiosk novice?

Any advice or insight is much appreciated.

Thank you

Regards

stephan
        • 1. Re: Touch Screens
          BSpero Level 1
          Stephan,
          I do a lot of work with touchscreens so I can tell you a few things.

- The screens respond to all normal mouse commands. There might be different setting on the touch screen software that will let them do different things, For instance, they could be set to register a mouse down and up when the user clicks the screen, or they could be set to register a mouse down when touched, and mouse up when released.

- Your solution is what I have used in the past for detecting inactivity. The way you figure out if there is activity on the screen is set a timeout object that is reset on and mouse move. If it's set for 60 seconds or something, then it will keep resetting whenever the mouse is moved. If the timeout reaches the end, then you can go to a different frame in the movie, or load something else to act as the screen saver, as you have said.