6 Replies Latest reply: Mar 3, 2013 9:16 PM by EmKimothy RSS

Making a scrub control for the animation using AS3

EmKimothy Community Member

I'm really new at Flash AS stuff. Right now I'm trying to make a little control bar that has play/pause button and a scrub bar that will move along with the animation. I've created a little scrub bar/control with couple rectangles, but I'm lost on AS3 part.

My scrub bar has some AS3 used to control the boundaries and whatnot. But how do I connect it to the animation?

Could someone help me with the scripting part and where to put it? (scene 1 or go inside the scrub bar?)

Thank you!

• 1. Re: Making a scrub control for the animation using AS3
          Ned Murphy MVP

Show the code you have so far and explain what the pieces are that relate to it and what it needs to control.

• 2. Re: Making a scrub control for the animation using AS3

This is the code I used for the scrub bar, and it's inside the scrub bar symbol. The instance names I've used are sliderKnob (the rectangle you'd click to drag) and sliderTrack (the actual bar that the knob is on).

import flash.geom.Rectangle;

import flash.events.MouseEvent;

var knobWidth:Number = sliderKnob.width;

var trackWidth:Number = sliderTrack.width;

var trackX:Number = sliderTrack.x;         

var boundWidth = trackWidth - knobWidth;

var boundsRect:Rectangle = new Rectangle(trackX, 0, boundWidth, 0);

//enable drag

sliderKnob.addEventListener(MouseEvent.MOUSE_DOWN, startDragging);

function startDragging(event:MouseEvent) {

sliderKnob.startDrag(false, boundsRect);

}

//stop drag

sliderKnob.addEventListener(MouseEvent.MOUSE_UP, stopDragging);

sliderKnob.addEventListener(MouseEvent.MOUSE_OUT, stopDragging);

function stopDragging(event:MouseEvent) {

sliderKnob.stopDrag();

}

I want the user to be able to scrub through the animation using the scrub bar, not just play/pause.

Thank you!

• 3. Re: Making a scrub control for the animation using AS3
              Ned Murphy MVP