5 Replies Latest reply on Feb 28, 2013 12:50 PM by Chuck Uebele

variable data sets based on metadata

Chris200009

Can i use meta data as a variable in datasets? (i am an event photographer and have a apreadsheet with (racenumber,time,name) . I want to tag my photos using metadata with the race numbers and then  have CS5 add text onto my photos  by matching the racenumber from the meta data to the spreadsheet  is this possible?

• 1. Re: variable data sets based on metadata
          Paul Riggott Level 6

Not that I know of, maybe some has a better answer.

What can be done is add the metadata to your pictures and use Picture Processor to put the metadata on your pics. (If you use fields it can access)

To add metadata to documents from a csv file
          http://www.scriptsrus.talktalk.net/DIYmetadata.htm

Picture Processor can use some metadata and place it in the picture.
          Metadata fields it can use are:-
          Document Title, Caption, Headline or CopyRight Info

http://www.scriptsrus.talktalk.net/PP.htm

• 2. Re: variable data sets based on metadata
            Michael L Hale Level 5

Maybe I am missing something... If the data is in a spreadsheet to start with why not use that as your datasets?

• 3. Re: variable data sets based on metadata
              Chris200009 Level 1

what is want ot do is this;

I take photos at marathons thousands of photos.

I want to tag all my photos with the athletes race number (BIB) as meta data.

Then i get a spread sheet containing the race timings (BIB,Name,Age,Time,Place)

i want photoshop to check the meta data on the photo (BIB) and then match that BIB with the one in the speadsheet and incert all the other data like Name,Age,Time,Place on to the photo.

This is so i can create personalised participation certificates for the marathons.

Is this possible?