9 Replies Latest reply on Aug 1, 2006 8:12 AM by johnmccallum

Context-Sensitive Help in RoboHelp for HTML

Kyleena
      Hi colleagues,

I'm a newbie here and also a relatively new user of RoboHelp HTML. Please direct me what basic steps one should make in order to implement the RoboHelp Online Help document as a Context-Sensitive Help. I've read the John Daigle's tutorial ( http://www.adobe.com/devnet/robohelp/articles/context_help.html#) but still lack the complete picture of what I should do.

Thank you

• 1. Re: Context-Sensitive Help in RoboHelp for HTML
          RoboColum(n) Level 5
          Hi kyleena and welcome to the world of RH forums. There is quite a lot of good stuff on this area in the (cough) RH help. In a nutshell CSH works in one of two ways. Your developers provide you with a list of ids that you map to your help topics. The way I and many other TAs prefer is to create the ids yourself in a map file and then provide these to the developer. Either way, when the user uses the F1 key in the application, a call is made containing the mapid and a map file name which identifies the help topic to open. Exactly how the application call is made depends on the application platform. It is best to speak to your developers in the first instance to get them on board with your way of doing things.
          • 2. Re: Context-Sensitive Help in RoboHelp for HTML
            Level 2
            Hi Kyleena and welcome to the forums.

One of the problems with getting started with context sensitive help is that there are many different ways to implement it since it is partially done by the application developer and paritally by the help author. Here are a few questions that might help the people on this forum provide good advice:

Do you currently have a working application or is it just starting to be developed too?

Is the developer someone you work closely with, or someone far away?